The independent elections watchdog
and regulator of party and election finance

Section menu

Who can register to vote?

To be eligible to register to vote, a person must be:

•    aged 16 years or over (but you cannot vote until your eighteenth birthday), and
•    a British, Irish, EU or qualifying Commonwealth citizen

Citizens of EU countries other than the UK, the Republic of Ireland, Cyprus and Malta cannot vote in UK Parliamentary general elections, but can vote at local government elections, Scottish Parliamentary elections if they are registered in Scotland, National Assembly for Wales elections if they are registered in Wales and Greater London Authority elections if they are registered in London. They can also vote at European Parliamentary elections if they fill in a form stating that they wish to vote in the UK and not in their home country.