The Electoral Commission

The independent body which oversees elections and regulates political finance in the UK

Section menu

Bedfordshire Mid

Results for Bedfordshire Mid Show national results

Winning candidate: N.V. Dorries

Majority: 11,355

Electorate: 73,549

Total number of votes cast: 50,420

Adjusted turnout: 68.6

Number of postal votes cast: 7,778

Number of proxy votes cast: 101

Number of rejected votes: 208

Parliamentary seats won

  • N.V. Dorries, Conservative (46.3%)
  • M.R. Chapman, Liberal Democrat (23.8%)
  • M. Lindsay, Labour (22.5%)
  • R.H. Joselyn, UK Independence Party (2.7%)
  • N.B. Foley, Green (2.6%)
  • H. Martin, Veritas (1.5%)
  • S.I. Ali, Independent (0.6%)

Table of detailed results

Candidate surname Candidate initials Party / description Votes (no) Percentage of votes won
Dorries N.V. Conservative 23,345 46.3
Chapman M.R. Liberal Democrat 11,990 23.8
Lindsay M. Labour 11,351 22.5
Joselyn R.H. UK Independence Party 1,372 2.7
Foley N.B. Green 1,292 2.6
Martin H. Veritas 769 1.5
Ali S.I. Independent 301 0.6
  • Electorate: The number of electors eligible to vote at this election.
  • Valid votes: The total number of valid votes cast.
  • Postal votes counted: The total number of postal votes which went forward to the count after postal ballot verification.
  • Proxies issued: The total number of electors who appointed proxies to vote on their behalf.
  • Rejected ballot: The number of ballot papers which was declared invalid for one or more of the following reasons:
  • the ballot paper did not contain the official mark
  • where the voter had voted for more than the specified number of candidates
  • where the ballot paper contained writing or a mark by which the voter could be identified
  • where the ballot paper was unmarked or where it was unclear what the voter had intended
  • (A ballot paper may also be rejected in part).

Elections and referendums