The Electoral Commission

The independent body which oversees elections and regulates political finance in the UK

Section menu


Results for Tooting Show national results

Winning candidate: S.A. Khan

Majority: 5,381

Electorate: 70,510

Total number of votes cast: 41,568

Adjusted turnout: 59

Number of postal votes cast: 5,365

Number of proxy votes cast: 174

Number of rejected votes: 86

Parliamentary seats won

  • S.A. Khan, Labour (43.1%)
  • J.N. Bethell, Conservative (30.2%)
  • S.M. Dearden, Liberal Democrat (19.5%)
  • S.M. Vitelli, Green (4.1%)
  • A.J. Zaidi, Respect-Unity Coalition (1.7%)
  • S.D. McDonald, UK Independence Party (1%)
  • I.K. Perkin, Independent (0.5%)

Table of detailed results

Candidate surname Candidate initials Party / description Votes (no) Percentage of votes won
Khan S.A. Labour 17,914 43.1
Bethell J.N. Conservative 12,533 30.2
Dearden S.M. Liberal Democrat 8,110 19.5
Vitelli S.M. Green 1,695 4.1
Zaidi A.J. Respect-Unity Coalition 700 1.7
McDonald S.D. UK Independence Party 424 1
Perkin I.K. Independent 192 0.5
  • Electorate: The number of electors eligible to vote at this election.
  • Valid votes: The total number of valid votes cast.
  • Postal votes counted: The total number of postal votes which went forward to the count after postal ballot verification.
  • Proxies issued: The total number of electors who appointed proxies to vote on their behalf.
  • Rejected ballot: The number of ballot papers which was declared invalid for one or more of the following reasons:
  • the ballot paper did not contain the official mark
  • where the voter had voted for more than the specified number of candidates
  • where the ballot paper contained writing or a mark by which the voter could be identified
  • where the ballot paper was unmarked or where it was unclear what the voter had intended
  • (A ballot paper may also be rejected in part).

Elections and referendums