The Electoral Commission

The independent body which oversees elections and regulates political finance in the UK

Section menu


Results for Llanelli Show national results

Winning candidate: Nia Griffith

Majority: 4,701

Electorate: 55,637

Total number of votes cast: 37,842

Adjusted turnout: 67.33

Number of postal votes cast: 9,324

Number of proxy votes cast: 182

Number of rejected votes: 49

Vote share

  • N. Griffith, Labour Party (42.5%)
  • M. Davies, Plaid Cymru (29.9%)
  • C. Salmon, Conservative Party (14.4%)
  • O.M. Edwards, Liberal Democrat (10.4%)
  • A.I. Marshall, United Kingdom Independence Party (2.8%)

Table of detailed results

Candidate surname Candidate initials Party / description Votes (no) Percentage of votes won
Griffith N. Labour Party 15,916 42.5
Davies M. Plaid Cymru 11,215 29.9
Salmon C. Conservative Party 5,381 14.4
Edwards O.M. Liberal Democrat 3,902 10.4
Marshall A.I. United Kingdom Independence Party 1,047 2.8
  • Electorate: The number of electors eligible to vote at this election.
  • Valid votes: The total number of valid votes cast.
  • Postal votes counted: The total number of postal votes which went forward to the count after postal ballot verification.
  • Proxies issued: The total number of electors who appointed proxies to vote on their behalf.
  • Rejected ballot: The number of ballot papers which was declared invalid for one or more of the following reasons:
  • the ballot paper did not contain the official mark
  • where the voter had voted for more than the specified number of candidates
  • where the ballot paper contained writing or a mark by which the voter could be identified
  • where the ballot paper was unmarked or where it was unclear what the voter had intended
  • (A ballot paper may also be rejected in part).

Elections and referendums