The independent body which oversees elections and regulates political finance in the UK

Section menu

Complete set of turnout figures for referendum now published

Published: 9 May 2011

The Chief Counting Officer for the referendum and Chair of the Electoral Commission, Jenny Watson, has announced the final set of turnout figures for the referendum on the voting system for UK Parliamentary elections.

All 12 UK regions have now completed checking the number of ballot papers delivered to their counting centres against the number of ballot papers issued to voters. Counting Officers began counting the Yes and No votes from 4pm.

A total of 19.1 million votes have been cast across the UK, giving a turnout of 42%.

Figures have been received for the following regions.

The turnout for each referendum region is:



Turnout as a percentage of registered voters


1.86 million


South East

2.79 million

South West

 1.80 million


1.84 million

West Midlands

1.63 million

East Midlands 

 1.43 million

Yorkshire and the Humber

1.53 million

North West

2.05 million

North East

0.76 million


1.98 million


 0.95 million

 Northern Ireland



*Figures have been rounded up to the nearest 2 decimal places.

Jenny Watson, the Chief Counting Officer for the referendum and Chair of the Electoral Commission, will announce the final result of the referendum – along with a final turnout figure - from the Excel Centre in London later today. 

The 12 regional totals, made up from the 440 local totals from across the UK, will be published as soon as they are available on the Commission results website at www.aboutmyvote.co.uk/referendumresults

For more information contact:

Office hours: 0207 271 0704
Out of office hours: 07789 920414

Follow us on Twitter @ElectoralCommUK

Notes to editors

1. The Electoral Commission is an independent body set up by the UK Parliament. Our aim is integrity and public confidence in the UK’s democratic process. We regulate party and election finance and set standards for well-run elections and are responsible for the conduct and regulations of referendums held under the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act (2000). More details on our role in a referendum can be found here

2. There are 440 counting areas across the UK, sitting within one of 12 regions.