The Electoral Commission

The independent body which oversees elections and regulates political finance in the UK

Section menu

Alasdair Morgan

Alasdair Morgan, Commissioner


Term: 1 October 2016 to 30 September 2020

While pursuing his career in the IT industry, Alasdair Morgan held various senior positions within the Scottish National Party (National Treasurer, National Secretary etc.) until he was elected as SNP MP for Galloway & Upper Nithsdale from 1997 to 2001, where he served on the Trade & Industry Select Committee.

He was an SNP member of the Scottish Parliament from 1999 until 2011, when he stood down. During his second four year term he was convener of his party’s parliamentary group and then its chief whip, and in his last term he was one of the Deputy Presiding Officers of the Parliament and leader of the Parliament’s delegation to the British-Irish Parliamentary Assembly.

He remains a trustee of the Scottish Parliamentary Pension Fund.

Who we are