Description of what we publish

We publish information about our commissioners’ fees, travel and subsistence costs as part of our commitment to being open about what we do.

Fees are the daily rates we pay our commissioners. The House of Commons has set the current daily rate at £390 per day, and £195 per half day, which is equivalent to Band 4 of judicial salaries.

We also pay for travel, accommodation, meals and certain other expenses that our commissioners incur while carrying out our work. The limits for these expenses are set out in our policy.

We publish an annual total at the end our financial year. Our financial year starts 1 April, and ends 31 March the following year.

2019/20 travel and accommodation

Name Total (£)
Sir John Holmes (Chair) 384
Dame Susan Bruce 581
Anna Carragher 1,779
Sarah Chambers 25
Professor Elan Closs Stephens DBE 0
Lord Horam of Grimsargh 0
David Howarth 0
Alasdair Morgan 2,531
Bridget Prentice  0
Rob Vincent CBE 684
Joan Walley 1,424
Alasdair Ross 1,540
Lord (Stephen) Gilbert 0

2019/20 salary and fees

Name Total (£)
Sir John Holmes (Chair) 80,523
Dame Susan Bruce 12,975
Anna Carragher 12,319
Sarah Chambers 9,399
Professor Elan Closs Stephens DBE 17,337
Lord Horam of Grimsargh 32
David Howarth 20
Alasdair Morgan 10,016
Bridget Prentice  40
Alasdair Ross 9,267
Joan Walley 8,880
Rob Vincent CBE 9,906
Lord (Stephen) Gilbert 7,923

2017/18 fees, travel and subsistence

Last updated: 20 July 2020
Next review: 29 May 2020