What we publish and why

We are independent, and impartially is important in everything we do. 

Our Commissioners tell us their interests, and record all of the gifts and hospitality they receive, including any they refuse.

We then publish this information, to show we are independent and impartial.

Sir John Holmes


  • Chair, Board, International Rescue Committee (Humanitarian NGO) (Pro bono)
  • Advisor, MasterCard International (Remunerated)
  • Council Member, Governing Council, Radley College (boys’ school) (Pro bono)
  • Chair, Humanitarian and Memorial Steering Group (Pro bono)
  • Member, Advisory Council, Wilton Park (Government-linked conference centre) (Pro bono)

Gifts and hospitality

Details of Gift/
making offer
Event / circumstances of offerDate
Sign offDate signed off
DinnerJohn Mothersole,
Returning Officer and Chief Executive
Sheffield City
Elections3 May 2018AcceptedClaire Bassett25 May 2018


Dame Sue Bruce


  • SSE plc – Non-Executive Director (remunerated), RemCo Chair; NomCo member; Safety, Health, Environment Advisory Committee member
  • University of Strathclyde – Convenor of Court  (Pro bono)
  • RSNO -  Chair (Pro Bono)
  • National Trust for Scotland: Independent Chair of Nominations Committee (Pro bono)
  • Erskine Stewart’s Melville Schools – Governor (Pro bono)
  • Merchant Company of Edinburgh - Member (Pro bono)
  • The Prince’s Foundation: Trustee (Pro bono)
  • Chair Expert Panel on measures for the environment: Represents Scottish Government (Fee)

Anna Carragher


  • Trustee, National Heritage Memorial Fund (The Heritage Lottery Fund) (Remunerated)
  • Board Member, Arts Council for Northern Ireland (Pro bono)
  • Trustee, Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust (Pro bono)

Sarah Chambers


  • Panel Member Judicial Appointments Commission (Remunerated)
  • Chair of Legal Services Consumer Panel (Remunerated)
  • Chair Renewable Energy Consumer Code Applications Panel (Remunerated)
  • Member of the Determinations Panel of the Pensions Regulator (Remunerated)

Alasdair Morgan



Professor Dame Elan Closs Stephens CBE


  • Appointed in July 2017 for three years as a non-executive Director of the BBC Unitary Board. (Remunerated)
  • Member of the S4C Authority (Wales 4th Channel) and Member Audit Committee S4C (Remunerated)
  • Deputy Lord Lieutenant (Dyfed) (Pro bono)
  • Chair Public Bodies Forum (Arm’s Length bodies of Welsh Government) (Remunerated) 
  • Member Strata Florida Trust (Charitable organisation) (Pro bono)
  • Member Aberystwyth Arts Centre Advisory Committee  (Pro bono)
  • Emeritus Professor and Member of Court Aberystwyth University (Pro bono)

Rob Vincent CBE


  • Chair, Kirklees Cultural Education Trust (Pro bono)
  • Non-Executive Director, Bradford Community Health Trust (Remunerated) 
  • Director, New Ing Consulting (mentoring and technical assessment work with Local Government Chief Executives) (Remunerated)

Lord Gilbert of Panteg


  • Member, House of Lords (Remunerated)
  • Chair, Communications Select Committee
  • Principal, Stephen Gilbert Consulting (Remunerated)

Joan Walley


  • Non-executive director, Combined NHS Trust (Remunerated)
  • Honorary chairman, Aldersgate Group (Pro bono)
  • Honorary chairman Burslem Regeneration Trust (Pro bono)
  • Council of Fellows, Keele University (Pro bono)
  • Member, City Learning Trust (Pro bono)

Alastair Ross


  • Senior consultant, Weber Shandwick Northern Ireland, (Remunerated)
  • Previously Leonard Cheshire, Northern Ireland, (Remunerated)
  • Board member, Probation Board Northern Ireland, (Remunerated)
Last updated: 8 October 2019
Next review: 29 May 2020