Scottish Parliament Political Parties Panel meeting minutes: 16 May 2022

Who was at the meeting

Scott Martin, Scottish National Party (Chair)

Paul Moat, Scottish Liberal Democrats

James Kelly, Scottish Labour Party

Matt Edmonds, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Pete Morrison, Scottish Green Party

George Adam MSP, Minister for Parliamentary Business (Items 2 and 4)

Maria McCann, Scottish Government

James Newman, Scottish Government 

Mark Sweeney, Scottish Government

Chris Highcock, Secretary, Electoral Management Board for Scotland

Pete Wildman, Scottish Assessors Association (Chair of Electoral Registration Committee and EMB Member)

Hannah Standring, Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland 

Nathan Lappin, Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland

Isabel Drummond-Murray, Boundary Commissions for Scotland

Dame Susan Bruce, Electoral Commissioner

Alasdair Morgan, Electoral Commissioner

Andy O'Neill, Head of Electoral Commission, Scotland

Sarah Mackie, Manager, Electoral Commission, Scotland

Lindsey Hamilton, Business Support Officer (Minutes)

Minutes of the last meeting and matters arising

There were no matters arising and the Minutes of 8 March 2022 were approved. 

EMB Update on electoral registration and electoral administration

(PW) said that EROs were now booking slots in July and August for the annual canvass and working with the Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities on the implementation of voter ID for UK Parliament elections. (CH) said the EMB was looking at the consequences of the Elections Act and would participate in discussions regarding the implementation of the Acts provisions.