Overview of our Commissioners

Our commissioners represent Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, as well as political parties in the House of Commons.

The process for selecting the commissioners to represent the political parties is different, but all commissioners are equal.

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland

Three of our commissioners have responsibility for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. They make sure these areas are represented, especially when the law or processes are different.

Political parties

Representing the parties

Three of our commissioners represent the three largest qualifying political parties, and another represents all of the other parties.

Qualifying parties are registered parties with two or more Members of the House of Commons.

Submitting and recommending the candidates

The Speaker gives the relevant party leaders the opportunity to submit the names and CVs of three candidates. They also have to submit evidence of the suitability for each candidate.

An independent panel reviews the information from the party leader, and interviews the candidates. The panel writes a report for the Speaker’s Committee, which evaluates the candidates.

The Speaker’s Committee then makes recommendations based on this report. Once the Speaker’s Committee makes the recommendations, the Speaker holds a statutory consultation with the relevant parties on the names of successful candidates.

After the consultation, the Speaker’s Committee reports its recommendation to the House of Commons, including the responses received in the statutory consultation.

The Speaker will ask the Leader of the House to table a motion for an humble Address to appoint the recommended candidates.

Appointing the commissioners

If the House agrees the motion, the Queen appoints our commissioners by Royal Warrant.

Last updated: 8 October 2019
Next review: 29 May 2020