There are four types of mayor in England. The type of mayor or mayors you have depends on where you live.

In London, the Mayor sets the vision for the city. Find out more about the Mayor of London.

In some areas, there is a combined authority, where a group of local councils work together on issues that affect the whole area, such as transport and housing. Combined authorities are led by an elected mayor.

There are also local authority mayors, who are elected to lead the local council in one area.

Finally, there are mayors who take on a ceremonial role. These mayors are not elected, and do not have a political role. They often represent the council at special occasions and charity events.

Who can vote in these elections

If you are eligible to vote and are registered in an area that has an elected mayor, you can vote in mayoral elections.

Check if you’re eligible to vote

Voting in these elections

The UK Government has postponed the elections scheduled for 7 May 2020 due to the current and emerging situation around COVID-19. Read our statement

Voting in these elections

Mayoral elections take place at different times, depending on where you live.

Mayoral elections use the Supplementary Vote system (SV).

The ballot paper will list the candidates for mayor, with two columns for marking your first choice and second choice.

In the first column, you mark a cross next to the candidate who is your first choice. For your vote to be counted, you need to cast a first choice vote.

In the second column, you can mark a cross next to the candidate who is your second choice. You don’t have to mark a second choice.

Areas with mayors

Last updated: 6 April 2020
Next review: 26 February 2021