Scottish Parliament Political Parties Panel Meeting Minutes: 15 September 2021


Paul Moat, Scottish Liberal Democrats (Chair)

James Kelly, Scottish Labour Party

Matt Edmonds, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

John Hardy, Scottish Green Party

Scott Martin, Scottish National Party

Colin Wilson, Boundaries Scotland

Maria McCann, Scottish Government

Iain Hockenhull, Scottish Government

James Newman, Scottish Government

Hannah Rutherford, Scottish Government

Gillian Cruickshank, Scottish Government

Chris Highcock, Electoral Management Board for Scotland

Pete Wildman, Scottish Assessors Association (Chair of Electoral Registration Committee and EMB Member)

Helena Brice, Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland

Rachel Winham, Royal Mail

Scott Forsyth, Royal Mail

The Electoral Commission:

Dame Susan Bruce, Electoral Commissioner

Alasdair Morgan, Electoral Commissioner

Alex Attwood, Electoral Commissioner

Andy O'Neill, head of Electoral Commission, Scotland

Sarah Mackie, Manager, Electoral Commission, Scotland

Martin McKeown, Senior Adviser, Elections and Campaigners, Scotland

Catherine Heggie, Partnerships and Information Officer, Scotland

Lindsey Hamilton, Business Support Officer, Scotland (Minutes)

Malcolm Burr, Electoral Management Board for Scotland

Isabel Drummond-Murray, Boundaries Scotland

Hannah Standring, Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland

Kate Crawford, Renfrewshire Valuation Joint Board

Welcome and introductions

Paul Moat welcomed those present.

Minutes of the last meeting and matters arising

It was noted Rachel Palma Randle was not present at the previous meeting and the Chair asked for a correction to the minutes of the previous meeting held on 19 May 2021. 

Matters arising
(a)    Item 3.4 candidate acceptance forms were currently designed for paper not electronic usage.                     
(b)    Item 3.8 The EMB would look at the idea of hosting results for Scottish Parliament and Council elections on their website.