Parliamentary Parties Panel minutes: 7 December 2021

Who was at the meeting

Liberal Democrats:          

  • Kerry Buist (KB), chair of meeting

Labour Party:

  • Andrew Whyte (AW)

Scottish National Party:        

  • Scott Martin (SM)

Conservative Party:            

  • Catherine Latham (CL)

Plaid Cymru:

  • Geraint Day (GD)
  • Carl Harris (CH)

Alba Party:           

  •  Chris McEleny (CM)

Electoral Commission:    

  • Craig Westwood, Director of Communications, Policy and Research (CW)
  • Louise Edwards, Director of Regulation (LE)
  • Alex White, Senior Communications Officer (AMW)

Cabinet Office:             

  • Paul Docker (PD)
  • Becca Crosier (BC)
  • Elizabeth Jacobs (EJ)

Present for agenda item 1:


  • Amy Craddock (AC)

Present for agenda item 2:

Electoral Commission:

  • Kate Engles (KE), Policy Manager

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport:

  • Robin Edwards (RE)
  • Sarah Goulsbra (SG)
  • Bilal Toure (BT)
  • Simon Weakley (SM)
  • Mark Hicks (MH)

Cabinet Office:

  • Elizabeth Homans (EH)
  • Rose Ashley (RA)


Apologies: Alan Mabbutt (Conservative Party)

Elections Bill - Cabinet Office

BC gave an update on the Bill’s progress through Parliament. She noted that the Bill had been amended to include provisions relating to the use of first past the post for PCC elections and mayoral elections in England, as well as some minor technical drafting amendments. 

BC also highlighted that ministerial responsibility for elections policy had now transferred from Cabinet Office to the Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities and that Kemi Badenoch MP was taking the Bill through the Commons. 

BC confirmed that the UK Government was still working towards the Bill receiving Royal Assent around May.